Industrial surge protectors range from rugged outlet strips for workshop tools to hardwired devices for protecting building circuits, so the right choice depends on what you need to connect and where. My best overall pick is the Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar 10-Outlet HT10DBS, which pairs a high outlet count with a design aimed at separating connected equipment. For heavy-duty corded use, the CRST 10-Outlet Metal Surge Protector stands out for its 15-foot cord, while the DITEK DTK-120/240CM+ is the specialized option for compatible 120/240V installations. The main tradeoffs are outlet capacity versus cord and mounting needs, and convenient plug-in protection versus an installation-specific device. Read on for the full breakdown, including which features matter most for your setup.
Get privacy and security gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- The lineup splits into two different jobs: outlet strips serve plug-in equipment, while the DITEK DTK-120/240CM+ is a 120/240V device that must match an installation rather than replace a shop power strip.
- Outlet count alone does not define capacity: the 16-outlet JUNNUJ suits many low-draw connections, while 12-gauge and 20A-labeled options speak more directly to demanding shop setups; circuit and device limits still apply.
- Cord reach is a real differentiator: CRST and the 4-outlet CCCEI 2-pack offer 15-foot and 4-foot cords respectively, making them better fits for different layouts than the many 6-foot models.
- The two Isobar options fill different roles: the 6-outlet Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar favors a compact setup, while the 10-outlet HT10DBS offers more connection capacity.
- Published protection details vary: the 1,200J CCCEI and 2,700J 6-outlet metal strip state joule ratings, but several other listings emphasize rugged construction or cord gauge; compare documented surge specifications before buying.
| industrial surge protector | Surge protection | Outlets | Voltage | Maximum current |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JUNNUJ 16-Outlet Metal Power S | — | 16 | 125 V | 15 A |
| Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar 6-Outl | 3,330 joules | 6 | 120 V | 12 A |
| CRST 10-Outlet Heavy-Duty Meta | 2,800 joules | 10 | 125 V | 15 A |
| CCCEI Heavy-Duty Surge Protect | 4,800 joules per strip | — | 125 V | 15 A |
| CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protect | 2,700 joules | — | 125 V | 15 A |
| CCCEI 12-Gauge Heavy-Duty Surg | 4,800 joules | 4 | 125 V | 20 A |
| CCCEI 12-Gauge Heavy-Duty Powe | 4,800 joules | 8 | 125 V | 20 A |
| JUNNUJ Heavy-Duty Surge Protec | 4,800 joules | 8 | 125 V | 20 A |
| HEZI 20A Metal Surge Protector | 1,200 joules | 8 | — | 20 A |
| Eaton Tripp Lite HT10DBS Isoba | 3,840 joules | 10 | 120 V | 12 A |
| CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protect | 4,800 joules | 3 | 125V | 15A listed |
| DITEK DTK-120/240CM+ Surge Pro | 2,000 joules | — | 120/240VAC | — |
| CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protect | 1,200 joules | 6: four compact and two wide-spaced | — | — |
| Heavy-Duty 6-Outlet Metal Surg | 2,700 joules | 6 | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
JUNNUJ 16-Outlet Metal Power Strip with 6 ft Cord, Yellow
I’d choose the JUNNUJ 16-outlet strip when the main challenge is connecting many tools or bulky adapters at one fixed work area. Its widely spaced outlets, metal enclosure, and mounting brackets suit a garage or shop where a long, permanently placed strip is more useful than a compact desk unit. Compared with the CRST 10-Outlet Heavy-Duty Metal Surge Protector, JUNNUJ gives you six more receptacles, but the supplied details do not specify a surge-energy rating, so I would not treat outlet count as proof of surge protection. The 45.47-inch length also takes substantial wall space, and the six-foot cord limits placement flexibility. It is ETL listed and rated for 15 A, but buyers should still match connected loads to the circuit capacity.
Pros:- 16 widely spaced outlets accommodate bulky plugs
- Metal enclosure and mounting brackets support fixed workshop installation
- 15 A rating suits compatible North American circuits
- ETL listed and includes an on/off switch
Cons:- Product details do not provide a surge-protection joule rating
- 45.47-inch body needs considerable mounting space
- Six-foot cord may restrict placement away from the outlet
Best for: Workshop owners who need many receptacles along a long bench for tools and larger plugs.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a documented joule-rated surge protector or a compact strip for a crowded wall.
- Outlets:16
- Voltage:125 V
- Maximum current:15 A
- Cord length:6 ft
- Dimensions:45.47 × 2.75 in
- Enclosure material:Aluminum and metal
- Mounting:Mounting brackets
- ETL listed:Yes
Our verdict“Pick JUNNUJ for high outlet density on a spacious workshop wall, but choose a model with a stated surge rating if surge suppression is your priority.”
Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar 6-Outlet Metal Surge Protector
For equipment where line noise and documented surge capacity matter more than outlet count, I’d put the Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar ahead of the more outlet-heavy JUNNUJ. It specifies 3,330 joules of surge protection and uses three isolated filter banks with up to 80 dB of EMI/RFI noise blocking, helping reduce interference between connected devices. The metal housing, diagnostic LEDs, circuit breaker, and automatic shutoff add useful safeguards for a small equipment station. Its six widely spaced outlets are fewer than the CRST 10-Outlet provides, so it is a better fit for a select group of electronics than a tool-heavy bench. The six-foot cord can also constrain placement, and no USB ports are listed. I’d favor it for sensitive connected gear, not maximum-capacity distribution.
Pros:- 3,330-joule surge protection is explicitly specified
- Three isolated filter banks and up to 80 dB EMI/RFI noise blocking
- Metal housing with breaker, automatic shutoff, and diagnostic LEDs
- Widely spaced outlets and keyhole mounting slots
Cons:- Six outlets offer less capacity than the CRST 10-outlet model
- Six-foot cord may be short for spread-out installations
- No USB charging ports are specified
Best for: Technicians and small equipment-room operators connecting a few sensitive devices that benefit from surge protection and noise filtering.
Not ideal for: Workshop users who need many outlets, USB charging, or a long cord to reach distant equipment.
- Outlets:6
- Surge protection:3,330 joules
- EMI/RFI noise blocking:Up to 80 dB
- Filter banks:3 isolated
- Voltage:120 V
- Maximum current:12 A
- Cord length:6 ft
- Mounting:Keyhole slots for wall or desk mounting
Our verdict“Choose the Isobar when surge capacity and line-noise filtering matter more than having a large number of outlets.”
CRST 10-Outlet Heavy-Duty Metal Surge Protector Power Strip with 15-Foot Cord
The CRST 10-outlet strip stands out when the outlet is far from the work surface: its 15-foot grounded cord reaches farther than the six-foot leads on the Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar and JUNNUJ. Ten outlets and a stated 2,800-joule rating make it a more balanced choice for a mixed bench of tools and electronics than JUNNUJ, whose supplied data does not state a joule rating. The metal housing, 15 A breaker, and cord-storage features support workshop use, while two USB ports add convenient charging. The tradeoff is weight: at 3.3 pounds, it is less convenient to reposition, and the product details do not specify outlet spacing or mounting hardware beyond a mounting hole. I’d choose it for reach and capacity, not for the Isobar’s specified noise filtering.
Pros:- 15-foot grounded cord reaches farther than the six-foot cords on several alternatives
- 10 outlets with a stated 2,800-joule surge rating
- Metal housing, 15 A circuit breaker, and on/off switch
- Two USB ports and cord-storage features
Cons:- 3.3-pound weight makes frequent repositioning less convenient
- Outlet spacing is not specified, leaving bulky-plug fit unclear
- No EMI/RFI filtering details are provided
Best for: Garage and shop users whose grounded outlet is far from a workbench and who need several receptacles plus USB charging.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing a lightweight portable strip or documented EMI/RFI filtering and isolated outlet banks.
- Outlets:10
- Surge protection:2,800 joules
- Cord length:15 ft
- Voltage:125 V
- Maximum current:15 A
- USB ports:2
- Housing:Metal
- Weight:3.3 lb
Our verdict“Choose CRST for a long reach and useful outlet capacity, but pick the Isobar if line-noise filtering is the deciding factor.”
CCCEI Heavy-Duty Surge Protector Power Strips, 2-Pack, 4 Outlets, 12-Gauge, 4-Foot Cord, Yellow
I’d give this CCCEI two-pack the edge when a shop needs protected power at two distinct locations rather than a single bank of outlets. Each strip has four receptacles, individual switches, wall mounting, and a 12-gauge, four-foot cord; the supplied description also specifies 4,800 joules of surge protection per strip. That makes it a different proposition from the CRST 10-Outlet, which concentrates more outlets in one unit and offers a longer lead. CCCEI instead lets buyers place a small strip at each station and switch outlets individually. Capacity is the main limit: each unit is rated up to 1,875 W and 15 A, so it is not a way to run multiple high-draw tools beyond the circuit’s limits. The short cords also favor nearby outlets, and outdoor use needs added protection.
Pros:- Two strips provide power at separate work locations
- 4,800-joule surge rating per strip is specified
- Individual outlet switches support control of connected equipment
- 12 AWG cords and wall-mountable design suit fixed shop use
Cons:- Four outlets per strip may not suit a crowded single workbench
- Four-foot cords require outlets close to each mounting location
- Outdoor use requires additional protection
Best for: Workshop operators who want two wall-mounted, independently switched outlet groups at separate benches or stations.
Not ideal for: Users who need one high-capacity strip, long cord reach, or an outdoor-ready power setup.
- Pack count:2
- Outlets per strip:4
- Surge protection:4,800 joules per strip
- Cord length:4 ft
- Wire gauge:12 AWG
- Voltage:125 V
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum power:1,875 W
Our verdict“Choose this two-pack for distributed, switched protection at separate stations; choose CRST when one long-reach strip is more useful.”
CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector Power Strip with USB Ports
For a garage or bench where phones and small USB-powered devices share space with tools, I’d choose the CCCEI 8-outlet strip over the CRST if keeping charging close at hand matters. It combines eight AC outlets with two USB ports, a six-foot cord, wall mounting, a metal aluminum housing, and a stated 2,700-joule surge rating. Its 15 A breaker and overload protection add practical safeguards for a workshop setup. Compared with the Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar, CCCEI gives you more outlets and USB charging, while the Isobar specifies three isolated filter banks and stronger stated surge capacity at 3,330 joules. This CCCEI model is not described as weatherproof, so it belongs indoors or in a suitably protected area. The 1,875 W maximum also calls for care when several power-hungry tools are connected.
Pros:- Eight AC outlets and two USB ports combine tool connections with device charging
- 2,700-joule surge rating is specified
- Aluminum and metal housing with wall-mountable design
- 15 A circuit breaker and overload protection
Cons:- Not fully weatherproof for outdoor use without additional protection
- 1,875 W maximum limits the combined connected load
- USB output is specified at 5 V/2.1 A, which may not suit faster charging needs
Best for: Garage users who need several AC outlets and USB charging in a wall-mounted indoor work area.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing outdoor-rated equipment, documented EMI/RFI filtering, or a surge rating higher than the Isobar’s specified 3,330 joules.
- AC outlets:8
- USB ports:2
- Surge protection:2,700 joules
- Maximum current:15 A
- Voltage:125 V
- Maximum power:1,875 W
- USB output:5 V/2.1 A
- Cord length:6 ft
- Certification:ETL listed
Our verdict“Choose CCCEI for convenient USB charging and a useful outlet count in an indoor workshop, but pick the Isobar for greater stated surge capacity and noise filtering.”
CCCEI 12-Gauge Heavy-Duty Surge Protector Power Strip, 4 Outlets, 6 ft, Yellow
I’d choose this CCCEI when controlling each connected tool matters more than maximizing outlet count. Its four outlets have individual switches and circuit breakers, so I can shut off one device without unplugging the rest. That’s a useful distinction from the eight-outlet CCCEI and JUNNUJ strips, which offer more connection points but don’t specify individual outlet controls. The 4,800-joule rating, grounding and overload protection add a clear protection package, while the 12-gauge, 6-foot cord and wall-mountable body suit an indoor bench or garage setup. The tradeoff is capacity: four outlets and a stated 1,875W maximum leave less room for a crowded work area. I’d also keep it indoors; outdoor use requires added protection.
Pros:- Individual switches and circuit breakers let users control outlets separately.
- 4,800-joule surge protection is paired with overload and grounding protection.
- Four widely spaced outlets and wall-mounting support a tidy workbench setup.
- A 12-gauge, 6-foot cord suits heavy-duty indoor use.
Cons:- Four outlets provide less capacity than the eight-outlet CCCEI and JUNNUJ alternatives.
- Maximum stated power is 1,875W.
- Intended for indoor use; outdoor placement needs added protection.
Best for: Indoor workshop users who want separate on/off control for up to four tools or devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers with many bulky plugs or higher-load equipment; it has only four outlets and is rated up to 1,875W.
- Outlets:4
- Surge protection:4,800 joules
- Cord:6 ft, 12 gauge
- Maximum current:20 A
- Maximum power:1,875 W
- Voltage:125 V
- Mounting:Wall-mountable
- Recommended use:Indoor
Our verdict“Pick this CCCEI for an indoor station where individual outlet control matters more than having eight connections.”
CCCEI 12-Gauge Heavy-Duty Power Strip, 8 Outlets, 6 ft Cord, Gray
For a garage or workshop with several devices to plug in, this CCCEI offers eight outlets and a 12-gauge, 6-foot cord without adding the individual controls found on the four-outlet CCCEI. That makes it the more practical choice when connection capacity is the priority and a shared 20A switch is acceptable. It also lists 4,800-joule surge protection, overload protection and grounding, giving it a stronger stated surge rating than the HEZI, which lists 1,200 joules. The product data does not specify widely spaced outlets, so bulky adapters may be less convenient than on the JUNNUJ, which calls out extra spacing. I’d keep this strip indoors or protect it for outdoor use, and note its one-year warranty.
Pros:- Eight outlets accommodate more connected devices than the four-outlet CCCEI.
- 4,800-joule surge protection comes with overload and grounding protection.
- A 12-gauge, 6-foot cord and wall-mountable design suit workshop setups.
- The 20A switch provides a single point of control.
Cons:- Individual outlet switches are not specified.
- The product data does not state maximum wattage or wide outlet spacing.
- Outdoor use requires added protection, and the warranty is one year.
Best for: Garage and workshop owners who need to connect several standard plugs to one wall-mountable strip.
Not ideal for: Users who need individual outlet switches or confirmed spacing for oversized adapters; those features are not specified here.
- Outlets:8
- Surge protection:4,800 joules
- Cord:6 ft, 12 gauge
- Maximum current:20 A
- Voltage:125 V
- Plug:Type B, 3-pin NEMA 5-15P
- Mounting:Wall-mountable
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose this CCCEI when eight connections and a heavy-gauge cord matter more than individual controls or documented wide spacing.”
JUNNUJ Heavy-Duty Surge Protector Power Strip, 8 Outlets, 6 ft 12 AWG Cord
The JUNNUJ is the clearest fit when workshop adapters and larger plugs crowd ordinary strips: it specifies eight outlets spaced for larger plugs and a metal enclosure that can be wall-mounted. Its 12 AWG copper cord and 4,800-joule surge protection match the CCCEI eight-outlet strip’s stated surge rating, while the JUNNUJ specifically identifies the metal housing and outlet spacing as design points. Against the HEZI, it offers a much higher stated joule rating, though the HEZI provides listed CSA, ETL and UL certifications in its product data. One limitation is the plug: its Type B 5-15P is intended for standard outlets, so a 20A breaker rating does not make it a 20A plug-in connection. The 6-foot cord may also restrict placement.
Pros:- Eight outlets are spaced to accommodate larger plugs.
- Metal enclosure and wall-mounting support fixed workshop placement.
- 12 AWG copper cord pairs with 4,800-joule surge protection.
- Includes a 20A circuit breaker and overload protection.
Cons:- The 6-foot cord may be too short for distant outlets or equipment.
- The Type B 5-15P plug is intended for standard wall outlets.
- Warranty is one year.
Best for: Workshop and home-office users with bulky adapters who want a wall-mountable metal strip for a standard outlet.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a longer reach or a plug connection suited to a dedicated 20A receptacle.
- Outlets:8
- Surge protection:4,800 joules
- Cord:6 ft, 12 AWG copper
- Maximum current:20 A
- Voltage:125 V
- Plug:Type B (5-15P)
- Enclosure:Metal
- Mounting:Wall-mountable
Our verdict“Pick the JUNNUJ if oversized plugs are the main nuisance and a standard-outlet connection meets your setup.”
HEZI 20A Metal Surge Protector Power Strip, 8 Outlets, 6 ft Cord, Yellow
The HEZI stands out for buyers who prioritize a metal workshop strip with explicitly listed CSA, ETL and UL certifications. Its eight outlets have a stated 1.57-inch spacing, and the 12 AWG, 6-foot cord plus wall-mounting holes fit a garage bench or work area. The key tradeoff is surge capacity: at 1,200 joules, it is well below the 4,800 joules listed for the CCCEI and JUNNUJ eight-outlet options. The stated 20A maximum also needs context: on a 15A circuit, the load should not exceed 1,875W. That makes the listed 2,500W maximum unsuitable as a blanket expectation for a standard 15A outlet. No individual outlet controls are specified, unlike the four-outlet CCCEI.
Pros:- Eight outlets with stated 1.57-inch spacing accommodate larger plugs.
- Metal housing and wall-mounting holes suit a fixed workshop setup.
- 12 AWG cord and 20A circuit breaker support a heavy-duty design.
- CSA, ETL and UL certifications are listed.
Cons:- The 1,200-joule surge rating is lower than the 4,800-joule CCCEI and JUNNUJ options.
- On a 15A circuit, the stated load limit is 1,875W.
- Individual outlet controls are not specified.
Best for: Workshop buyers who want a metal, wall-mountable eight-outlet strip and value the certifications listed in its product data.
Not ideal for: Users seeking a higher stated joule rating or expecting to draw 2,500W from a standard 15A circuit.
- Outlets:8
- Surge protection:1,200 joules
- Cord:6 ft, 12 AWG
- Maximum current:20 A
- Maximum power:2,500 W; 1,875 W limit on a 15A circuit
- Outlet spacing:1.57 in
- Housing:Metal
- Certifications:CSA, ETL, UL
Our verdict“Choose the HEZI for its listed certifications and metal workshop build, not for the highest surge rating or unrestricted 20A use.”
Eaton Tripp Lite HT10DBS Isobar 10-Outlet Surge Protector
This Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar takes a different approach from the workshop-focused CCCEI, JUNNUJ and HEZI strips: it is built around 10 outlets in two isolated filter banks and added protection for coaxial, phone/modem and Ethernet lines. That combination suits a rack-adjacent AV or network setup where signal connections need protection alongside power. Its 3,840-joule rating is substantial, though it falls short of the 4,800 joules listed for the CCCEI and JUNNUJ models. The 12A circuit breaker also makes it a poorer fit for higher-draw workshop tools than those 20A-rated strips. An 8-foot cord, right-angle plug and diagnostic LEDs help with placement and status checks, but the connected-equipment coverage is limited to the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico.
Pros:- Ten outlets are divided into two isolated filter banks.
- Adds protection for coaxial, phone/modem and Ethernet connections.
- Diagnostic LEDs and a 12A circuit breaker provide status and overload information.
- Eight-foot cord and right-angle plug offer flexible placement.
Cons:- Its 12A circuit breaker is a lower current rating than the 20A workshop strips.
- The 3,840-joule rating is below the 4,800 joules listed for the CCCEI and JUNNUJ.
- Connected-equipment insurance is limited to the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico.
Best for: North American AV or networking users connecting power, coaxial, phone/modem and Ethernet lines in one setup.
Not ideal for: Workshop users with high-draw tools or buyers who need equipment-coverage terms beyond the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico.
- Outlets:10
- Outlet layout:Two isolated filter banks
- Surge protection:3,840 joules
- Maximum current:12 A
- Voltage:120 V
- Cord:8 ft
- Additional protection:Coaxial, phone/modem and Ethernet
- Plug:Type B, 3-pin
- Connected-equipment coverage:$500,000; limited to the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico
Our verdict“Choose the Isobar for AV or network systems that need signal-line protection and isolated outlet banks, rather than high-current workshop use.”
CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector with 3 Outlets, 12 Gauge, 6ft Cord, Wall Mount
For a workshop station that needs a sturdy connection for just a few demanding devices, this CCCEI stands out with a 12-gauge cord, metal housing, and a stated 4,800-joule surge rating. Its three widely spaced outlets and individual switches favor selective control over connecting a large cluster of equipment. Compared with the six-outlet CCCEI 1200J Yellow Aluminum, this model gives you fewer connections but a much higher listed joule rating and thicker wire. Wall mounting can also keep the strip out of the way on a bench or garage wall. The tradeoffs are its three-outlet limit and heavier, bulkier build; it is not a substitute for a properly rated branch-circuit or panel surge device. The listed 15A maximum current also matters despite the description’s 20A breaker wording, so buyers should confirm the device’s electrical ratings before installation.
Pros:- Stated 4,800-joule surge protection rating
- 12-gauge copper conductors and thickened aluminum casing
- Individual outlet switches support selective control
- Wall-mount design helps free up bench space
Cons:- Only three outlets, fewer than the six on the CCCEI 1200J Yellow Aluminum
- Heavier and bulkier than a standard plastic strip
- Specs list 15A maximum current while the description mentions a 20A breaker, so the rating needs clarification
Best for: Workshop users who need wall-mounted, individually switched outlets for a small number of tools or appliances and value a heavy-gauge cord.
Not ideal for: People powering several devices at once, or anyone who needs a verified 20A load capacity; the listed maximum current is 15A and there are only three outlets.
- Outlets:3
- Surge protection:4,800 joules
- Cord:6 ft, 12-gauge
- Voltage:125V
- Maximum current:15A listed
- Breaker:20A listed
- Plug:NEMA 5-15P (Type B)
- Mounting and certification:Wall mount; ETL Listed
Our verdict“Choose this CCCEI for a wall-mounted workshop station with a few connected devices, but verify its current rating and skip it if you need more outlets.”
DITEK DTK-120/240CM+ Surge Protector, 120/240VAC
The DITEK is the specialist in this group: it is listed for 120/240VAC and described as a Type 1, 2W(+G) parallel protector, rather than as a conventional workshop power strip. That distinction makes it a better match for buyers selecting surge protection around compatible electrical equipment than for someone who simply needs extra receptacles at a bench. Its UL 1449 listing and NEMA 4X enclosure are useful identifiers when checking suitability for a particular installation. By contrast, the CCCEI 12-gauge 3-outlet strip is a corded, switched outlet strip with a higher stated joule figure, but it does not serve the same role. DITEK lists 2,000 joules, and its product details oddly report four outlets despite the parallel-protector description. I would verify the wiring method and configuration with the manufacturer or a qualified electrician before buying.
Pros:- Rated for 120/240VAC applications
- UL 1449 listed
- NEMA 4X enclosure designation
- Compact stated dimensions of 4 × 3 inches
Cons:- The stated 2,000-joule rating is lower than the 4,800-joule figure listed for the CCCEI 12-gauge strip
- Product data lists four outlets despite describing a parallel protector
- Installation method and application compatibility require confirmation
Best for: Facilities staff and qualified electrical installers seeking a listed surge-protection device for a compatible 120/240VAC application.
Not ideal for: DIY buyers seeking a plug-in workshop power strip; the product’s parallel-protector description and outlet count need clarification before purchase.
- Model:DTK-120/240CM+
- Voltage:120/240VAC
- Type:Type 1, 2W(+G), parallel protector
- Surge protection:2,000 joules
- Listing:UL 1449
- Enclosure:NEMA 4X; high-impact plastic
- Listed outlet count:4
- Dimensions and weight:4 × 3 inches; 3.04 ounces
Our verdict“Consider the DITEK for a compatible 120/240VAC protection application after confirming its configuration, not as a general-purpose outlet strip.”
CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector Power Strip, 6 Outlets, 6ft Cord, 1200J, Yellow Aluminum Housing
This CCCEI is the straightforward pick for a garage or workshop that needs six outlets and a tough housing without the more specialized setup of the DITEK DTK-120/240CM+. Four compact receptacles and two wide-spaced ones make it easier to connect a mix of ordinary plugs and larger adapters, while horizontal or vertical mounting keyholes help keep the strip organized. Its 1,200-joule rating is modest beside the 2700J six-outlet metal strip in this roundup, and far below the 4,800-joule figure listed for the three-outlet CCCEI. That makes this a practical outlet-expansion choice, not the strongest listed surge option here. The 14AWG cord and 15A rating fit common workshop use, but buyers with higher surge-protection priorities should compare the ratings and choose accordingly. The bright yellow finish is easy to spot, though it may be out of place indoors.
Pros:- Six outlets, including two wide-spaced receptacles
- Aluminum housing suited to workshop settings
- Keyholes support horizontal or vertical mounting
- 6 ft cord includes a cord holder
Cons:- 1,200-joule rating is lower than the 2,700-joule six-outlet metal strip
- 14AWG cord is lighter gauge than the 12-gauge CCCEI three-outlet model
- Bright yellow finish may not suit indoor work areas
Best for: Garage and workshop owners who want six mixed-size outlets, wall mounting, and an easy-to-spot metal strip for general equipment.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing the highest stated surge rating or a discreet indoor appearance; this model is rated at 1,200 joules and has a bright yellow housing.
- Outlets:6: four compact and two wide-spaced
- Surge protection:1,200 joules
- Voltage and current:125V; 15A
- Maximum power:1,875W
- Cord:6 ft, 14AWG
- Housing:Aluminum, metal; yellow
- Mounting:Keyholes for horizontal or vertical installation
- Certification and warranty:ETL Listed; 2-year manufacturer warranty
Our verdict“Pick this CCCEI for versatile six-outlet workshop access and mounting flexibility, but choose a higher-rated model if surge capacity leads your decision.”
Heavy-Duty 6-Outlet Metal Surge Protector Power Strip, 2700 J, 15 A, 6 ft Cord
This six-outlet strip lands between the other corded CCCEI options on the specs most workshop buyers will compare: it lists 2,700 joules, more than the yellow CCCEI’s 1,200 joules, while offering twice the outlet count of the 4,800-joule CCCEI. Its metal housing, 15A circuit breaker, wall-mounting option, and widely spaced outlets suit a shared garage or workbench where plugs and tools compete for room. The 45-degree flat plug can sit closer to a wall than a straight plug, though its listed Type A, 2-pin plug is a key limitation for buyers expecting a grounded three-pin connection. A disposable fuse also cannot be reset after it blows, unlike a resettable breaker. No weatherproof rating is specified, so I would keep it for dry indoor workspaces rather than exposed or damp locations.
Pros:- 2,700-joule surge rating exceeds the CCCEI yellow six-outlet strip’s 1,200 joules
- Metal housing and wall-mountable design suit organized workspaces
- Widely spaced outlets accommodate larger plugs
- 45-degree flat plug can reduce clearance behind furniture or equipment
Cons:- Listed Type A, 2-pin plug may not meet needs for a grounded connection
- Disposable fuse cannot be reset after it blows
- No weatherproof rating is specified
Best for: Workshop owners who need six outlets, a metal enclosure, and a stated 2,700-joule rating for dry indoor use.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require a grounded three-pin plug, a resettable fuse, or a specified weatherproof enclosure for damp or outdoor work.
- Outlets:6
- Surge protection:2,700 joules
- Cord:6 ft
- Housing:Metal; black
- Plug:Type A, 2-pin
- Plug angle:45 degrees
- Mounting and protection:Wall-mountable; no weatherproof rating specified
Our verdict“Choose this model for six outlets and a higher stated surge rating in a dry workshop, provided its two-pin plug and non-resettable fuse suit your setup.”

How We Picked
I ranked these industrial surge protectors by how clearly each product fits a real electrical setup, not by outlet count alone. I weighed stated surge-protection details, outlet capacity, cord length and gauge, enclosure and mounting features, and whether the product is a plug-in strip or an installation-specific device. I also considered whether the listed specifications give buyers enough information to match the protector to their equipment and circuit.
The order reflects versatility for common workshop and equipment use first, then narrower strengths such as long reach, compact mounting, multi-unit coverage, or a specific 120/240V application. Models with useful, clearly stated details rank ahead of products whose listing leaves important protection or electrical limits unclear. A rugged metal case or heavy-gauge cord can help with physical durability and power delivery, but neither alone proves surge performance; buyers should verify ratings and compatibility before installation.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Industrial Surge Protectors
Before choosing an industrial-style protector, I would start with the electrical job rather than the product label. A metal power strip can add outlets and provide surge suppression, but it is not automatically suitable for every motor, machine, or fixed circuit. These broader checks can help prevent a mismatch that outlet count and rugged styling do not reveal.
Match the device to the circuit and load
Check the voltage, amperage, and circuit type required by the equipment before comparing outlet counts. A protector’s stated rating does not raise the capacity of the branch circuit feeding it, and plugging several high-draw tools into one strip can overload that circuit. Pay attention to whether the listing gives an amperage rating and whether the plug and receptacles match your setup. For motors, compressors, welders, or other equipment with high startup demand, confirm suitability with the manufacturer or a qualified electrician. A product described as industrial or heavy-duty is not, by that label alone, rated for every industrial load.
Separate surge protection from rugged construction
A metal housing, thick cord, and bright workshop finish can help a strip withstand rougher surroundings, but they do not tell you how much transient energy it can handle. Look for published surge-protection specifications such as joule rating, clamping information, and applicable safety certification. Listings that omit these details are harder to compare, even if the strip appears physically robust. Avoid treating a high joule figure as a guarantee against every surge or as a substitute for facility-level protection. For valuable equipment, check the equipment maker’s guidance and consider a layered protection plan.
Choose outlet count around plug size and spacing
The number of receptacles printed on a box may overstate how many devices fit in practice. Large adapters and transformer plugs can block neighboring outlets, especially on compact strips. Sketch the plugs you expect to use and allow room for bulky power supplies, switches, and cable bends. A high-count model is useful for multiple low-draw devices, but it is not a reason to combine loads beyond the strip or circuit rating. If only a few machines need power at a station, a smaller strip can reduce clutter and make overloads easier to spot.
Measure cord reach and plan mounting
Measure from the intended receptacle to the mounting location, following the route the cord will take rather than measuring a straight line. A longer cord can improve placement flexibility, while a shorter cord may keep slack and trip hazards down. Check whether the body has mounting holes or a wall-mount design, and confirm the chosen surface and fasteners can support it. Do not use an extension cord to compensate for a short power-strip cord unless the manufacturers and electrical requirements permit that arrangement. In workshops, keep cords away from sharp edges, heat, moving machinery, and areas where vehicles or carts can crush them.
Know when a strip is the wrong product type
Plug-in strips serve equipment with standard plugs; they are not interchangeable with panel-mounted or hardwired surge protective devices. A product specified for 120/240V may require installation and system compatibility checks that a typical outlet strip does not. If the goal is to protect a whole building, a machine panel, or a fixed 240V load, ask an electrician to identify the correct device and installation point. Also check whether the system needs protection for additional conductors or communication lines. Buying a device with the right-looking voltage label is not enough if its installation method does not match the application.
Check protection status, certification, and replacement needs
Surge components can wear as they absorb electrical events, so find out whether the product has an indicator that signals protection status and what the maker says about replacement. A power light may only show that the strip has power; it may not confirm that surge protection remains active. Verify safety certification against the exact model and intended use rather than relying on vague claims in a listing. Keep the manual and model information accessible so you can check maintenance guidance later. For equipment where downtime or damage would be costly, plan for inspection and replacement instead of assuming a protector lasts indefinitely.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use an industrial surge-protector strip with a compressor or other motor-driven tool?
Only if the strip, receptacle, and supplying circuit are rated for that equipment’s electrical requirements. Motors can draw substantially more current at startup than during steady operation, so a strip with many outlets may still be unsuitable for a single demanding tool. Check the tool’s nameplate and the protector’s stated amperage and voltage, and ask the manufacturer or an electrician if the ratings are unclear. Do not assume that a heavy-gauge cord makes the strip safe for a motor load. For a fixed or high-draw machine, a dedicated circuit may be the better solution.
Is a 20A-labeled power strip safe to plug into a standard 15A outlet?
The strip’s label does not upgrade the outlet or branch circuit. The plug configuration, receptacle rating, breaker, and connected load all need to be compatible, and a 15A circuit remains limited by its own rating. A strip marked 20A may have features intended for a different setup, so check its plug type and manufacturer instructions before connecting it. Never modify a plug or use an adapter to force an incompatible connection. If you need a 20A circuit, have the wiring and receptacle verified by a qualified electrician.
Should I choose a plug-in strip or a 120/240V surge device for a workshop machine?
Choose based on how the machine receives power and what portion of the electrical system you intend to protect. A plug-in strip is designed for compatible equipment with standard plugs, while a 120/240V device such as the DITEK listing may be intended for a particular installation rather than direct use as a bench strip. Check the device’s wiring diagram, voltage configuration, and installation instructions before purchase. If the machine is hardwired or uses a dedicated circuit, have an electrician identify the appropriate protection point. Do not buy solely because the voltage printed on the product matches the machine.
Does a higher joule rating mean a surge protector is better for my equipment?
A joule rating can help compare stated surge-energy capacity, but it is only one part of the protection picture. Buyers should also look for clamping specifications, safety certification, product construction, and any protection-status indicator. A higher number does not establish that a device suits a particular voltage, circuit, or type of equipment. In this lineup, the 1,200J and 2,700J listings provide a specific figure, while several products do not make an equivalent rating prominent; that difference in available information matters. Match the full specification set to the equipment and ask the manufacturer when key details are missing.
When should I replace a surge-protector strip if it still powers my equipment?
Power to the outlets does not necessarily mean the surge-protection components are still functioning. Check the product manual for its status indicator, replacement guidance, and what to do after a significant surge or fault. If the strip has physical damage, a burnt smell, loose receptacles, or signs of overheating, stop using it and replace it. A simple power light may not report the condition of the surge circuitry. For critical equipment, keep model records and set an inspection schedule based on the manufacturer’s instructions.
Conclusion
For a flexible workshop setup, my best overall choice is the Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar HT10DBS, while the best value-style fit is the CCCEI 12-Gauge Heavy-Duty 4-Outlet 6 ft for buyers who prefer a simple, sturdy strip and can confirm its protection specifications meet their needs. The best premium-oriented pick is the Eaton Tripp Lite Isobar 6-Outlet for a smaller, more focused equipment cluster. For beginners, I would start with a straightforward plug-in option such as the CCCEI 6-Outlet 1,200J, after checking circuit compatibility and its protection details. For specific needs, choose the CRST 10-Outlet when 15-foot reach matters, the CCCEI 3-Outlet Wall Mount for a compact fixed station, or the DITEK DTK-120/240CM+ only for a compatible 120/240V installation. The best choice is the one whose electrical ratings, protection data, and physical layout match your actual setup.














